Saturday, July 13, 2024
spot_imgspot_img

Top 5 This Week

spot_img

Related Posts

My taking part in companion forgot to inform me she had moved my ball. What now?


What do the principles say a few taking part in companion who marks and strikes your ball and forgets to let you know?

Getty Photographs

The Guidelines of Golf are tough! Fortunately, we’ve bought the guru. Our Guidelines Man is aware of the e-book entrance to again. Obtained a query? He’s bought all of the solutions.

I performed a blind shot from a deep greenside bunker onto the inexperienced, then raked the sand. Ultimately, I bought to my ball, missed the ensuing putt and tapped in. Strolling off the inexperienced, I seen a stray ball marker. Seems one in every of my taking part in companions forgot to inform me she’d marked my ball and moved it from her line. Ought to I’ve been allowed to interchange my ball on the correct spot and replay from there? Additionally, any penalties and, if that’s the case, to whom? —Terry Christensen, through e-mail

In stroke play, the opposite participant is an outdoor affect, and there’s no penalty to anybody for the ball being moved. File it below: Stuff occurs.

Because you had no information or digital certainty that an outdoor affect moved your ball— see Rule 9.2b(2) in the event you’re inclined — you proceeded accurately, not from a fallacious place, and the ball is holed. No exchange, no replay, no nada.

For extra marking steerage from our guru, learn on …


golfers putting on green

Guidelines Man: Are gamers required to mark their balls on the greens when requested?

By:


Guidelines Man



I used to be known as out for aligning my ball for a putt after lifting my ball marker and informed that if I had been caught doing it once more I’d be penalized. But per Rule Clarification 14.2c/1, the ball may be aligned in any means as long as its vertical distance to the bottom stays the identical. I don’t see any reference to a ball marker being required when lining up a putt. Are you able to make clear? —Mark O’Neill, Kildare, Eire

Unhappy to say, you had been known as out accurately. By no means thoughts that “vertical distance to the bottom” is a head scratcher, even for Guidelines Man.

The clarification is a misdirection — it has nothing to do with why you’re getting a penalty. You breached the principles by “lifting,” which incorporates rotating, with out first marking your ball. That’s proper: Rotating the ball is taken into account lifting below Rule 14.1, and also you solely get the best to raise the ball on the placing inexperienced after you mark it first.

So, in the event you rotate the ball when it isn’t marked, you get one penalty stroke. In sum: Mark it, Mark!

Need assistance unriddling the greens at your property course? Decide up a customized Inexperienced Guide from Golf Logix.

Obtained a query concerning the Guidelines? Ask the Guidelines Man! Ship your queries, confusions and feedback to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he gained’t throw the e-book at you.

generic profile image

Sarah Thompson
Sarah Thompsonhttp://usdailysports.com
Sarah Thompson, an expert in tennis and golf, has covered numerous Grand Slam tournaments and PGA Tours. Her sharp analysis and player insights are a staple of her reporting. Sarah loves playing recreational tennis and is an avid golfer who enjoys weekend rounds with friends.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Popular Articles